Charles and Carolyn Lewis receive 2017 Ernest R. “Jack” Tucker Award for community service

Idabel, OK (April 3, 2017)—Charles and Carolyn Lewis of Tom, OK have received this year’s award which recognizes extraordinary volunteer, public service in McCurtain County. It includes a plaque and cash honorarium of $2500, sponsored by the non-profit Herron Foundation, Inc., which will be presented April 28, 2017 at the Annual Dinner of the Museum of the Red River, the Foundation’s major project.

The Lewis’ are exceptionally busy volunteers, supporting the charitable projects of many organizations. After military service in the US Army, Charles returned to his hometown of Tom, and began work at the Lone Star Ammunition Plant, where he met his wife Carolyn. They have been together since 1980. Charles is a member of the McCurtain County Sentencing Committee, and serves on the boards of Haworth Schools, the McCurtain Community Fund, and County Rural Water No. 1 of which he is vice chairman. He is also board secretary for the Oklahoma Rural Water Association  and chair of its Assurance Group. Together, Charles and Carolyn have been involved with the historic Tom Cemetery, seeing to its maintenance and growth, and are  closely involved with the success of the Tom Civic Group, and the establishment and maintenance of the town’s public park. They have also been instrumental in securing funds to support housing and equipment for the Volunteer Fire Department. They were previously honored as Citizens of the Year in 2002, by the Southeast McCurtain County Chamber of Commerce.

The Tucker Award was first given in 2000, inspired by the quiet and gentle efforts of retired businessman Ernest R. “Jack” Tucker. For many years he provided free accounting services to non-profit groups throughout the county.  He also provided individual tax services to the needy, at no cost to them. Subsequently, the award was named for Tucker, with winners selected annually by the Herron Foundation board from nominations received from the community. Past recipients have included Thela Leonard, the late Mark Ezell, Pat Ashton, the late Louis Coleman, the late Clovis McGovern, Floyd Middleton, Pat Webb, Ellen Pearson, Billie Tomlinson, Doris Perkins, Don and Nelda Shaw, Sallie Webb, Sharon Jernigan, Rev. Charles Darby, Faris Ryan, and last year Ross Chandler.


Scroll to Top